Keith Gordon

A subforum to discuss film culture and criticism.
patrick

Keith Gordon

#1 Post by patrick » Sat Apr 14, 2007 10:16 pm

For a short while I was a teacher, and while I was never able to teach this novel it remains one of my favorite young adult books. I had always heard about the film version, but never had a chance to see it before the brand-new DVD release (out Tuesday). Pretty much all I had heard about it was anger over the changing of the book's ending, and it seemed that no one had anything kind to say about it.

Of course, I watched the DVD and thought it was terrific, especially for a low-budget adaptation from a first-time director. Gordon is a bit liberal with his camera tricks (he LOVES 360 spins and shaky hand held shots to create confusion and mood), but pretty much everything else is dead-on. I love how the character of Archie was changed to be more sexually ambiguous, and the ending is still powerful while being changed to work better on screen.

(also, I didn't realize until looking the movie up on IMDB that "Wally Ward" was Wallace Langham's stage name, it's kind of odd seeing him in a serious role considering 99% of his work seems to be cameos on TV shows or voiceover work).

Sorry for just kind of rambling, this is my first time making one of these posts.

John Cope

#2 Post by John Cope » Sat Apr 14, 2007 11:49 pm