PWA: Polskie Wydawnictwo Audiowizualne

Vinegar Syndrome, Deaf Crocodile, Imprint, Cinema Guild, and more.
posto

PWA: Polskie Wydawnictwo Audiowizualne

#1 Post by posto » Thu Jul 20, 2006 9:41 pm

Narodowy Instytut Audiowizualny

I have just received great 2 disk edition of Krzysztof Kieslowski's 12 documentaries.
The set released by Polish Audivisual Publishers contains the following:
Disk 1
1) From the City of Lódz (Z miasta Lódzi) (1968)
2) I Was a Soldier (Bylem zolnierzem) (1970)
3) Refrain (Refren) (1972)
4) Bricklayer (Murarz) (1973)
5) X-Ray (Przeswietlenie) (1974)
6) Curriculum Vitae (1975)
7) Slate (Klaps) (1976)

Disk 2
1) First Love (Pierwsza milosc) (1974)
2) Hospital (Szpital) (1976)
3) From a Night Porter's Point of View (Z punktu widzenia nocnego portiera) (1978)
4) Seven Women of Different Ages (Siedem kobiet w róznym wieku) (1978)
5) Talking Heads (Gadajace glowy) (1980)
It is a really great set in a slipcase with Criterion style 18 page booklet in polish and English.
All movies have English and French subtitles. Total time is listed at 239 min 50 sec. Region: 2.

I only watched 2 shorts so far: Talking Heads and From a Night Porter's Point of View. Picture quality is very good. I liked both movies, especially From a Night Porter's Point of View (great music by Wojciech Kilar).

Unfortunately I can not help you with any information other than the link above. I searched polish online retailers such as Merlin or Astabe but they do not have it. You can contact PWA thru email: sekretariat@pwa.gov.pl. It is a really superb set.
Last edited by posto on Sun Oct 24, 2010 12:40 am, edited 1 time in total.

alfons416

#2 Post by alfons416 » Fri Jul 21, 2006 8:11 am

oh that sounds really nice, what was the price in poland?

posto

#3 Post by posto » Fri Jul 21, 2006 9:09 am

The price, including shipping in Poland, was approximately $13. It is a steal, for such a quality DVD set.